Tags

, , , ,

We’ve discussed my passion for mushrooms, have we not?  We’ve also – I think – discussed my proclivity to rush to soup for comfort.  The heavenly elixer that follows marries my penchants for both.  This is especially lovely on rainy days that find you staying home whenever possible for comfort.  I don’t love sherry, so I substitute white wine vinegar, which I suppose begs the question why would she still call it that?  for which I have no decent response other than that I think sherried sounds quite erudite.  Call it what you will, but love it like there’s no tomorrow.  It’s for serious mushroom lovers only, though; you other types have been forewarned.  This tastes of the deep forest.

 

 

2 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp chopped, fresh thyme

1 pound shallots, coarsely chopped

6 14 1/2 oz cans of chicken broth

2 oz. dried porcini mushrooms

2 cups thinly sliced shiitake mushrooms

3/4 cup dry sherry or white wine vinegar

3 tbsp fresh chopped chives (I used at least 6 tbsp)

To prepare the broth, melt butter in a dutch oven over medium heat.  At this point, if anyone would like to compliment me on my new Le Creuset braiser, please feel free to do just that.  I just got it this weekend.  It’s my favorite thing I own.  Please proceed to add thyme and shallots and cook 10 minutes or until shallots are golden brown.  Stir in chicken broth and porcini mushrooms and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 1 hour.  Some people (but most emphatically not me) like to drain the broth mixture at this point and to discard the solids. 

Return broth mixture to pan, add shiitake mushrooms and sherry and cook for 10 additional minutes over low heat.  Stir in chives and pretend that you are now a wood elf.  Serves 12.

