Tags

, , , , ,

I love applesauce and perhaps even more, I love the smell of home-made applesauce simmering on my stove. In these warm moments I feel my very most Autumnal Self. There is, as you may have guessed, some of this very same stuff burbling away right now as I type.  As I stop to consider it, I’m not sure what I love most about making applesauce.  I feel fulfilled as a Mom as I make it, even though it would be simpler, vastly simpler, and even cheaper to buy some from the grocery store.  Ignoring all of this, I usually choose a day like today on which to prepare this earthy comfort food:

 

 

This is your perfect applesauce-making day.  You’ll find that in conjunction with one another, the applesauce and the day are near explosive in their ability to lift one’s spirits.

Start with these:

And be sure to buy one of these:

It makes doing this so much easier:

I like leaving tiny bits of the skin on because they make the finished product prettier. 

You’d be hard-pressed to find something simpler to make.  You’ll find that you’d also be hard-pressed to find something to make your kitchen smell more like magic Itself.  I half expect wood fairies to be flitting about in the cinnamon-y goodness as I make it and the resulting smells waft about the air. 

All you need to do is put some water in the bottom of a good pot, fill it with fresh, preferably tart, firm apples, add whatever spices strike your fancy that day (today I benevolently shook cloves, nutmeg, ginger and cinnamon in liberal, magnanimous quantities into the yellow pot) and cook away on medium heat until the enchanted draught reaches your desired consistency.  My family likes their applesauce a bit chunky.  Adding sugar would be near sacrilege.  Get ready to become your family’s favorite for the day while they feast on this:

