Tags

, , , , ,

You should probably know that I lied to you just now.  Really, I have no intention of making ten soups in ten days.  I do intend to make ten soups, though and thought that the jazziness of the title might just suck you in to read further. 

Yesterday’s soup is perhaps my all-time favorite.  I adore it.  It is a bit of a risk to make for when friends come over, but that’s just what I did because I couldn’t quite stop myself.  I love it so much.  It’s been snowing here of late and soup + snow = winter joy in my books.  Here’s the soup in question, in all its eclectic, pre-cilantro glory:

 

Shooter’s Soup from The Best of the Best and More

2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

1 tsp. grated ginger root

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

2-10 oz cans chicken broth

1 1/2 cans water

1 ripe papaya, peeled and cubed

4 green onions, sliced

2 tbsp chopped cilantro (instead I go the fistfuls route, but graciously serve it on the side for the cilantro haters among you, confused and misguided people though you are)

1-2 tbsp fresh lime juice

1 tsp chili oil or cayenne, to taste

Cut chicken in bite-sized pieces.  Marinate in ginger, garlic and lime juice for 1/2 hour.  Add chicken and marinade to brother and water.  Bring to boil; reduce to simmer for about 5 minutes.  Add papaya.  Simmer 3 minutes.  Add green onions, cilantro, lime juice and chili oil.  Serve with bread sticks.  Serves 4.

 

Now, I have a favor to ask of you.  I have about five more soups in mind for this little experiment, but if I’m to make my goal of ten, I’ll need some delicious recipes from you.  Would you consider emailing or submitting through the comments section your favorite soup recipe?  I’ll be sure to credit you to all of cyberspace, plus you’ll have my unending, soupy thankfulness.  Soup rocks.

