Tags

, , , ,

This one I’ve had my eye on for years now.  It struck me as being a good one to make for girlfriends coming over for lunch, but not, perhaps, for the family, many of whom are convinced that they’re starving as they sit down for dinner each night.  Honestly, my boys (all three of them) would eat at 4:30 in the afternoon if I were willing to have everything ready by then.

I really enjoyed it.  I added more than the recommended fresh lemon juice at the end and the tang was lovely if you like that sort of thing.

4 large red peppers

2 tbsp butter

1 large red onion

2 garlic cloves

4 cups chicken broth

1 tbsp lemon juice or gin

salt to taste

1/2 tsp fresh cracked pepper

fresh basil for garnish

Cut peppers in thirds; remove seeds and place cut side down on  a cookie sheet.  Broil until skins are blackened and puffed like this:   

Remove from sheet and place in a paper bag to steam.  I’ve always wanted to try this:

It really works!  Melt butter and saute onions and garlic until soft.  Remove cooled peppers from bag and peel off skins.  Cut into chunks and add to onions and garlic.  Cook for 2-3 minutes more.  Add broth, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.  Add lemon juice.  In a blender, whirl 1/3 of the mixture at a time until smooth.  Strain if you wish.  Season with salt and pepper and garnish with lots and lots of basil chiffonade.  Serves 4-6.

