Tags

, , , , ,

This is one of those Spring soups.  It’s from the Rest of the Best and More whose authors tell us that it’s delicious hot or cold.  I’m thinking cold would be cool, though given the fact that its raining all the way down through to my bones as I type, I went the hot route.  It was lovely.  It wasn’t knock-my-socks-off fabulous, but it was unusual and interesting and I’d make it again.  Before now, I’d never in my life purchased watercress and we all know by now that I love to be compelled to try new foodstuffs.  (One rarely gets the opportunity to use the word foodstuffs I find.  A shame.)  Along those wordsmith lines, I love the very sound of the name of this soup.  Watercress sounds ethereal somehow.  Pear and Watercress Soup.  You really need make this, even if only for the chance to go buy some watercress and then say the word out loud as many times as you find you’re still delighted by it.  Or is that just me?

3 tbsp butter

2 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed

4 green onions, sliced

14 oz can pears, drained and coarsely chopped, juice reserved

2 tsp grated lemon zest

1/2 tsp dried tarragon

2 cups chicken broth

1 bunch watercress, coarsely chopped, ends removed

1/2 cup light cream

salt and fresh cracked pepper

watercress or green onions, finely slivered for garnish.

In a suacepan over medium heat, melt butter.  Add potatoes and cook 5-8 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add green onions, pears, lemon zest and tarragon.  It should look something like this:

Stir, cover and simmer 3-5 minutes.  Carefully pour in broth and reserved pear juice.  Here’s where you’ll be at now:

Bring soup just to a boil and add watercress.  Cover and reduce heat.  Simmer until potatoes are tender and watercress is slightly wilted.  Remove soup from heat.  Puree soup in blender and return to saucepan.  Slowly stir in cream.  Heat over medium heat until warmed through.  Season and garnish and get ready to feel super elegant.  Serves 4-6.

