Tags

, , , ,

This one I made out of pity for my family.  Though they are mostly a soup-loving people, this soup obsession I’ve been immersed in of late hasn’t exactly been honed out of consideration for their food preferences.  The caption under the recipe for this ones says, This is so darn good, you’ll wish you’d doubled the recipe!  I thought all the effervescence sounded promising and I was right.  They loved it.  I hope you will too.  If you can just get past the dignity violation of buying chemically-laden Cheez Whiz, whose name says it all I think, you’ll be well on your way to providing a warm dinner for your happy family.

2 – 19 oz cans tomatoes

1 large onion, finely chopped

1 cup chopped celery

10 ox. can chicken broth

1/2 cup clamato juice

1 tsp dill

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup flour 4 cups milk

1 cup Cheez Whiz

chopped parsley for garnish

Simmer tomoatoes, onion, celery, broth, clamato juice and dill until veggies are cooked, about 20 minutes.  It should look very much like this:

Puree in Blender if smooth consistency is desired.  In a medium-sized pan, melt butter and blend in flour to make a paste.  Add milk slowly, stirring constantly, to make a thick white sauce.  Stir in tomato soup.  It’ll look all swirly, like this:

Fold in Cheez Whiz and garnish with parsley.  Serves 4-6.

