Tags

, , , ,

I found this beauty many years ago in a Cooking Light magazine, and though I tried, I couldn’t find a link to it on their website.  I think it was called something then like Instant Black Bean Soup.  It’s quick and it’s fabulous.  I think I may have made it a hundred times.  Here it is:

2 – 15 oz cans no salt added black beans, undrained

1/2 cup bottled salsa

1 tbsp chili powder

1 – 16 oz can less-sodium chicken broth

1/2 cup shredded reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese

5 tbsp low-fat sour cream

5 tbsp minced green onions

5 tbsp chopped cilantro

Place beans and liquid in a medium saucepan; partially mash beans with a potato masher.  Place over high heat; stir in salsa, chili powder, and broth.  Bring to a boil.  Ladle soup into bowls; top with cheese, sour cream, onions and cilantro.  Yield:  5 servings.

