Tags

, , , ,

Image

This is our final soup to salivate over together.  I pride myself on the Mexican-themed scrapbook paper I used as background because as I look at it, I can squeeze my eyes partially closed and pretend that I’m a food blogger just for a moment.  I.  love.  food.  So much.  My friend Rhonda sent me this recipe and I recommend it highly.  In my family, it made for selfish, wonderfully egocentric Mommy lunches for a good week or so.  It’s lovely to make food sometimes, for just yourself, without having to be sensitive to the food preferences of others.  All that and it’s healthy too.  Here’s how you make some Mommy lunches for you, too:

Saute in a little olive oil:

1 medium onion

3 cloves minced garlic

Add to the pot and heat to a slow boil:

1-15 oz can diced tomatoes

2-15 oz cans kidney beans (drained)

1-24 oz can veggie juice

Mix together in a small bowl and add hot water to a paste-like consistency, then add to the pot:

3 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. cumin

Add to the pot, heat to slow boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes:

1-1 lb bag of frozen corn

Garnish with sour cream and tortilla chips.  This serves 4-6.

