Tags

, , ,

Calling these “health bars” is a bit of a stretch, considering the fact that the binding ingredient is marshmallows.  However, these are so delicious, you’ll be the Mom of the hour when you make them for your Littles’ lunches.  I first had these at my sisters’ house, where I, on a clandestine fridge raid, found them carefully and individually wrapped in her freezer at the ready for her girls’ lunches.  I spotted the Smarties immediately because I’m eagle-eyed like that.  These are seriously fantastic.  And I only stole a very few from my sweet nieces.

To make them, you melt together 1/2 cup butter and 500 grams mini marshmallows.  You then add 3 cups sunflower seeds, 2 cups nuts (or replace with various other seeds for the nut-free school attendees), 2 cups oatmeal, 2 cups pumpkin seeds and 2 cups craisins (cause I think raisins suck).  To this delicious concoction, you can feel free to add (or replace with) chocolate chips, smarties, hemp hearts, flax seeds, chia seeds, m and m’s or whatevva.  Mix well, let set and cut to size.  Have a gander:

